Home Page


Along with the Head Teacher, the Governing body are the strategic leaders of our school and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. This is reflected in the law, which states that the purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school’

The Governing body has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:


  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  2. Holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent


The Governing Body consists of a range of governors from the Gateshead community, the school and specifically from the Bensham community. The following are the current Brighton Avenue Primary School Governors:


Chair of Governors

Mrs S Coles


Vice Chair of Governors

Mrs K Holden


Ex Officio

Mrs J Allan


Staff Governor

Mrs J Mowbray


Parent Governors

Miss S Collier

Mrs J Welsh 


LEA  Appointed Governor

Mrs E MacMaster


Co-Opted Governors

Cllr. C Donovan

Mr C Hart

Mrs C Murphy-Morgan

Mr R Grant


Clerk to the Governing Body:

  • Ms G Docherty


The table below details further information relating to the Governing Body including attendance at meetings from September 2020 to July 2021

If you wish to speak with the Chair of Governors, please contact the school office who will arrange for correspondence to be passed on.


Brighton Avenue Primary School – Governor Membership 2020-2021


Governor and

Associate Member


(see notes)

Term of Office

Body Appointed /

Elected By

Position of


(if any) 



(see notes)


Mrs J Allan

HT   01/09/12 -Ex OfficioHTGC, R, AC3 of 3
Mrs S ColesC18/06/18 - 17/06/22GBChair of GBGC, FC, HPM3 of 3
Cllr E McMasterLA09/06/21 - 08/06/25GB GC, FC, HPM, R,AC2 of 3
Cllr C DonovanC20/11/21-19/11/25GB GC, FC, AC3 of 3
Mr C HartC06/03/19-05/03/23GB GC,R3 of 3
Mrs K HoldenC06/03/19-05/03/23GBVice Chair of GBGC3 of 3
Mr R GrantC03/03/21-02/03/25GB GC,FC,AC3 of 3
Mrs C Murphy-MorganC06/03/19-05/03/23GB GC2 of 3
Mrs J MowbrayS10/11/20-09/11/24Staff R, GC3 of 3
Miss S CollierP  29/01/18 - 28/01/22Parents GC,FC,R,AC2 of 3
Mrs J WelshP29/01/18 - 28/01/22Parents GC,FC,R,AC2 of 3



Staff (S)

Parent (P)

Co-opted (C)

Foundation (F)

Local Auth (LA)
Associate (A)



Resources (R)

Governor Challenge incorporating Curriculum & Data (GC)

First Committe (Complaints, exclusions, reorganisation, disciplinary etc) (FC)

Head Teacher PM (HPM)

Appeals & Complaints (AC)

Admissions (A)

Head/Deputy Appointments – Full Governing Body


Pecuniary Interests 2021-2022